(function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })(); skip to primary navigationskip to content

Professor Trevor Robbins is awarded the Brain Prize for his pioneering research on higher brain mechanisms

last modified May 15, 2014 03:42 PM

Professor Trevor Robbins is one of three European scientists to share the world’s largest prize for brain research. The Brain Prize - Denmark's one million euros brain research prize – has been awarded to the three scientists for their pioneering research on higher brain functions. The prize winners Stanislas Dehaene, Giacomo Rizzolatti and Professor Robbins, were announced today (Monday, 10 March 2014) in Copenhagen by the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation.


British professor Colin Blakemore, chairman of the Foundation's selection committee, said: “These three scientists are internationally recognised for the scale and outstanding quality of their work in the difficult field of human cognition and behaviour.

“They each have made unique and lasting contributions that have motivated the interests and efforts of many other researchers around the world.

“All three have made particular efforts to move from basic research to clinical application – in cognitive development, mental health, addiction, brain damage and delayed learning.”

Professor Robbins, head of the Department of Psychology at the University, was recognised for his work examining the basis for addiction, Attention Deficit Disorder (ADHD) and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).

The Brain Prize is awarded by the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize Foundation and is the world's largest prize for brain research.

The three scientists were invited to attend a prize-giving ceremony in Denmark to receive the shared prize of 1 million euros on 1 May.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence. If you use this content on your site please link back to this page.